Be Awesome: A Theatrical Mixtape of the 90s

BeAwesome_5x7SEPTEMBER 22 – OCTOBER 9, 2016

buy-tickets

 

 

BE AWESOME: A THEATRICAL MIXTAPE OF THE 90s

Conceived and Directed by Jason Schlafstein
Choreography by Company Members Ryan Tumulty and Jonathan Ezra Rubin
Featuring Company Members Jon Jon Johnson, Madeline Key, Robert Bowen Smith, and an incredible cast of DC’s Finest.

Performances at The Writer’s Center, 4508 Walsh Street, Bethesda, MD 20815

An original, devised show in the spirit of The Best of Craigslist and the Flying V Fights series, Flying V Theatres world premiere of Be Awesome: A Theatrical Mixtape of the 90s explores memory, nostalgia, transition, and that moment where you choose what to keep and what to leave behind. Through a night of live action music videos set to the soundtrack of that totally Awesome decade  the 90s, this devised show takes us back to a time of flannel, slap bracelets, and Saturday morning cartoons, while asking the question of who are we now? What if you were dying and had a child on the way? What is the mixtape you would leave behind to create a connection with someone you love but will never know? How do you encapsulate your life into 12 songs?

WHEN:
Thursday, 9/22/16 @ 8pm (Preview)
Friday, 9/23/16 @ 8pm (Preview)
Saturday,9/24/16 @ 2pm (Preview) & @ 8pm (Opening Night, includes reception)
Sunday, 9/25/16 @ 2pm
Monday, 9/26/16 @ 8pm (Industry Night)
Thursday, 9/29/16 @ 8pm
Friday, 9/30/16 @ 8pm
Saturday, 10/1/16 @ 2pm & 8pm
Sunday, 10/2/16 @ 2pm
Monday, 10/3/16 @ 8pm (Industry Night)
Thursday, 10/6/16 @ 8pm
Friday, 10/7/16 @ 8pm
Saturday, 10/8/16 @ 2pm & 8pm
Sunday, 10/9/16 @ 2pm (Closing)

CAST:
Christina Day
Jon Jon Johnson*
Madeline Key*
Bob Manzo
Clayton Pelham Jr.
Michelle Polera
Diane Samuelson
Noah Schaefer
Robert Bowen Smith*
Em Whitworth